How Much To Run AI
Open weights

MiniMax H3: Video, Audio and Cost per Accepted Clip

MiniMax H3 generates 4–15-second videos with stereo audio from text and reference materials. Compare hosted API and local H3-Base costs before choosing a workflow.

Content reviewed:

Try MiniMax H3 in Hailuo AI ↗

What you can make

  • Product shots with motion and sound.
  • Transitions guided by first and last frames.
  • Clips using character, motion or audio references.

Choose how to run MiniMax H3

Start with the output and operating model you need, then budget every attempt and reference material.

Hosted API

Use MiniMax-H3 for 768P or 2K output without operating GPU infrastructure. Hosted stages add Context-IR and 2K regeneration.

768P starts at $0.08 per output second, plus billable reference materials.

Local H3-Base

Run FL2VA or Ref2VA at native 768p when you need pipeline control and can operate the complete model stack.

Budget GPU time, power and every attempt. Hosted preprocessing and 2K regeneration are separate.

How much does a MiniMax H3 API clip cost?

As checked October 9, 2026, the direct MiniMax API charges $0.08 per output second at 768P and $0.13 at 2K. Ten output seconds therefore cost $0.80 or $1.30 before billable reference materials. Resolution and output duration are the first budget inputs.

Input audio is free. The first five input images are free, then each additional image costs $0.04. Input video is charged by its duration at the chosen output-resolution rate: $0.08 per second for 768P or $0.13 for 2K. A ten-second 2K output with a five-second video reference and seven images is $1.30 + $0.65 + $0.08 = $2.03. Reusing a reference in another request adds that request’s input-material charge.

For an assumed production session with ten ten-second 768P attempts, the output bill is $8. If two clips are accepted, that is $4 of generation spend per accepted clip before references, regeneration, review and delivery. Keep rejected attempts in the ledger so a low per-second rate does not hide the finished asset cost.

MiniMax H3 direct API budget: output duration, video references and extra images contribute to clip cost
Illustrative direct API requests using October 9, 2026 rates. Input materials and rejected attempts contribute to accepted-clip cost.
Direct API itemRateTen-second example
768P output$0.08 / second$0.80
2K output$0.13 / second$1.30
Reference videoOutput-resolution rate / input secondFive seconds at 2K: $0.65
Input imagesFirst five free; then $0.04 eachSeven images: $0.08
Input audioFree$0

Should you draft at 768P and regenerate the keeper?

The regeneration billing line charges $0.05 per output second to regenerate a prior 768P result at 2K. The original input materials are billed again: audio is free, images beyond the first five cost $0.025 each, and input video costs $0.05 per second. Include these lines when upgrading a reference-heavy clip.

For a ten-second text-only clip, $0.80 for the 768P pass plus $0.50 for regeneration equals $1.30, the direct 2K output price. The saving comes from leaving rejected drafts at 768P. Ten ten-second drafts with two ten-second upgrades cost $9 of output instead of $13 for ten direct 2K attempts, under these assumed counts.

A pipeline that calls H3-Context-IR separately also pays its token rate: $0.90 per million input tokens and $3.60 per million output tokens. These are preprocessing tokens, separate from the video’s per-second bill. Record that stage’s actual returned usage when calculating a mixed local-and-hosted workflow.

How do you request your first MiniMax H3 clip?

Create an API key in MiniMax’s platform and keep it on your server. Submit a small text-to-video task with model MiniMax-H3, output resolution, duration and aspect ratio. The example asks for five seconds at 768P; its output-price budget is $0.40 before any additional material.

The create endpoint returns task_id. Poll the documented Query Task endpoint until the task succeeds or fails, then download the resulting clip. Check duration, framing, motion and stereo sound before accepting it. Keep the task ID and billing usage with the saved output; a successful request alone does not tell you whether the clip meets the brief.

Illustrative paid request; API key from your own environment
curl https://api.minimax.io/v2/video_generation \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer $MINIMAX_API_KEY" \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \
  -d '{"model":"MiniMax-H3","content":[{"type":"text","text":"A slow camera move around a blue ceramic cup on a wooden desk. Soft room ambience and a gentle ceramic clink."}],"resolution":"768P","duration":5,"ratio":"16:9"}'

What does running MiniMax H3 locally involve?

The official repository contains FL2VA and Ref2VA task checkpoints with the required processor, tokenizer, text encoder and audio/video VAEs. Download only the task and format you need. Use the author-linked SGLang, vLLM-Omni, Diffusers or ComfyUI recipe for your chosen runtime.

The 33B Omni Transformer figure describes one component. The official architecture also includes a Qwen3-VL-32B encoder and VAEs; cached AdaLN branches alter which transformer weights inference needs to load. Size the complete runtime configuration rather than estimating a device from 33B alone.

Measure peak VRAM, system RAM and wall-clock seconds for the same duration, resolution and reference set you plan to use. Offloading and quantization trade device capacity against runtime and output quality. At an illustrative $1 per GPU-hour and 90 seconds per attempt, compute costs $0.025 per attempt. Add startup, idle allocation, storage and any hosted preprocessing or regeneration.

For a same-material comparison with FLUX 3 Video or Kling, hold clip duration and delivery requirements fixed. Count usable takes, speech accuracy, subject continuity, retries and review time. Compare accepted-clip cost after that review, rather than ranking models from unrelated generation speed reports.

Official task-scoped weight download; subject to the Community License
hf download MiniMaxAI/MiniMax-H3 \
  --include "model_index.json" "FL2VA/*" --local-dir MiniMax-H3

Consumer GPUs: configuration first, then generation time

Hao AI Lab reports these warm end-to-end medians for five-second clips with audio, eight denoising steps, encoding, decoding and MP4 export included. Each result uses two runs on each of two prompts. FastH3 V2 and the experimentally pruned Trim are separate checkpoints from base H3.

The 5090 uses NVFP4 and streams encoder layers from host memory; the 4090 uses FP8. Both use a lightweight video VAE. Their offload paths need system RAM as well as VRAM. The 8GB-limit row uses the same RTX 4090 with a software memory cap; it does not measure a physical 8GB card.

Device / precision5 s at 832 × 480: V2 / Trim5 s at 1344 × 768: V2 / Trim
RTX 5090 · 32GB · NVFP414.8 s / 13.4 s38.6 s / 35.4 s
RTX 4090 · 24GB · FP854.6 s / 43.9 s154.6 s / 132.8 s
RTX 4090 capped at 8GB · FP8V2 not reported / Trim 82.0 sNot reported

Use your measured runtime for an existing-GPU electricity budget

A real low-memory example comes from reventadirecta: Windows, RTX 4060 Laptop 8GB and 16GB RAM, using pruned W4A8 FL2VA, a Qwen3-VL 4B encoder with matching ClipProj, INT8 video VAE and low-VRAM offload. This graph produces silent video. At 480 × 864, 158 frames, 24 FPS and 20 Euler/Simple steps, generation completes but exact runtime is unrecorded. A different 544 × 960 run was observed at roughly 10–11+ minutes, with exact timing still pending.

Fitting the model establishes that this configuration can run; measure whether its complete clip time suits your deadline. In the video calculator, choose electricity only and enter your whole-machine watts, elapsed hours and electricity rate. Convert measured seconds to hours by dividing by 3,600, and include every attempt. The existing H100 mapping describes its own configuration; it cannot price FastH3 on a 5090 or establish the runtime of this 4060 workflow.

Choose Turbo, PDD or FastH3 with its matching workflow

Community Turbo LoRAs, Alibaba PAI’s PDD adapters and FastVideo FastH3 checkpoints shorten sampling in different workflows. Pair each weight format with its matching loader and step schedule. Total clip time still includes text encoding, references, offload and video/audio decoding.

ComfyUI’s base templates default to 20 steps. Its Turbo defaults use eight steps for T2V/I2V and four for reference and control workflows, with a separate four-step FL2V file. Reference matching and fine detail can weaken at very short schedules; the guide recommends more steps or disabling Turbo for a tight reference match. Compare the same seed, references, duration and precision before choosing a faster schedule.

Alibaba PAI publishes separate BF16 rank-64 eight-step PDD files for FL2VA and Ref2VA. Its current examples use Diffusers ModularPipeline with diffusers 0.40.0 or later and apply_pdd_lora. Load PDD’s adapter bank and output heads with the published workflow.

FastH3’s four-step preview and eight-step V2 remain separate releases. For ComfyUI sparse attention, base H3 uses sol-attn, while vsa requires the learned layers in a matching FastH3 checkpoint. Selecting vsa on other H3 weights can run the fine stage without the learned coarse branch. The published 5090 and 4090 timings use different formats; treat them as separate setup examples and record the GPU and precision alongside any timing.

Match the ComfyUI attention backend to the checkpoint

ComfyUI’s H3 templates use pruned INT8 ConvRot FL2VA or Ref2VA checkpoints. Its current guide documents an alignment crash when those files are combined with Comfy Kitchen attention: keep their default attention. With the BF16 counterparts, the guide recommends Kitchen attention for the late-clip morphing or garbled text seen with Sage Attention’s INT8 attention quantization. BF16 needs more memory; the supported backend also depends on available hardware kernels.

These are checkpoint-and-backend combinations, not a finding that every INT8 H3 workflow fails. Check the exact file loaded by UNETLoader before changing the Model Attention Backend node. Keep the rest of the clip and sampling settings fixed when comparing the result.

MiniMax H3 versions and community derivatives

Match a download or service to its author, upstream checkpoint and task before comparing costs. Open a variant to see what changes in the workflow and what to record in a budget.

Official H3, H3-Max and task checkpoints

MiniMax-H3-Max is a separately priced hosted variant: 480P output costs $0.05 per second and 768P costs $0.08. Its first two images are free, then $0.074 each; input video costs $0.0553 per second at 480P or $0.143 at 768P. Do not transfer H3’s five-image allowance or reference-video rates to Max. In the open H3 repository, FL2VA and Ref2VA are task checkpoints: choose frame guidance or mixed references, rather than treating each task folder as an unrelated model.

Open source ↗
fal H3 Max: post-training plus a hosted inference stack

fal Research’s H3 Max is post-trained from H3 and served through fal’s own stack; it is distinct from MiniMax’s API row MiniMax-H3-Max. fal’s August 27 announcement reports a five-second clip in under three seconds, about 35× the official endpoint’s throughput and 15× faster on average than its comparable-quality group. These are fal’s comparisons. The post identifies GB200 NVL72 infrastructure but does not provide the full GPU allocation, sampling settings, sample counts or retry ledger needed for a matched cost test. Use the selected fal endpoint’s quote, without borrowing MiniMax’s rates; the launch-week discount is not a permanent price.

Open source ↗
fal H3 Max Turbo: its own endpoint and dated promotion

Use minimax/h3-max-turbo/text-to-video or the separate image-to-video endpoint for this fal product. Checked October 9, its output rates are $0.015/$0.024/$0.048 per second at 480p/768p/1080p. fal labels them a 40% promotion ending October 15, followed by $0.025/$0.04/$0.08. A ten-second 768p output is $0.24 at the promotional rate or $0.40 at the announced regular rate, before any additional charges. Keep Turbo’s price and speed evidence separate from the original fal Max and MiniMax’s direct API. These variants are offered through hosted endpoints; no downloadable checkpoint is listed.

Open source ↗
FastVideo FastH3: a four-forward text-to-audio-video preview

FastVideo’s VSA-DataFree Preview v1 is a separate data-free DMD2-distilled checkpoint requiring its VSA-H3 attention backend. Its documented default uses four B200 GPUs. It supports text-to-audio-video; FL2VA and Ref2VA were not distilled. The author warns that motion, detail and audio can fall below base H3. Evaluate those losses alongside the shorter schedule, not from a secondhand RTX 5090 speed number. The checkpoint inherits the H3 Community License.

Open source ↗
Wuli MiniMax H3 Turbo: 4, 6 or 8 steps

Wuli’s community checkpoints support text-to-video and first-frame-to-video with audio. Four steps use a LoRA plus video/audio output projections on the official transformer; the six- and eight-step variants contain a full Diffusers transformer. All need official H3 base components. The workflow saves video and audio together as an MP4. H3 Community License applies. Choose the matching workflow and measure memory and accepted-clip time on your hardware; fal’s hosted Turbo price belongs to a different product.

Open source ↗
FastVideo FastH3 8-Step V2: a separate sparse runtime

FastVideo V2 uses eight transformer forwards, data-free DMD2 and VSA-H3 at 80% sparsity. Its video scheduler shift is 10, compared with base H3’s 12, and it requires the FastVideo VSA-H3 backend. Documented defaults use four B200 GPUs; the GPU count must divide 56 attention heads. It supports text-to-audio-video, with FL2VA and Ref2VA outside the distilled scope. Motion, fine detail and audio can fall below base H3. H3 Community License applies. Keep these settings separate from Preview v1 and Wuli’s Diffusers workflows.

Open source ↗
reventadirecta: a real RTX 4060 Laptop 8GB workflow

The author reports a Windows RTX 4060 Laptop with 8GB VRAM and 16GB RAM, using pruned W4A8 FL2VA weights, a Qwen3-VL 4B encoder with ClipProj, Spectrum and low-VRAM offloading. The recommended tested setting is 480 × 864, 158 frames and 20 Euler/Simple steps; the supplied graph defaults to 608 × 352 and 124 frames. It produces video without an audio connection. The author reports roughly 10–11+ minutes for a separate 544 × 960, 158-frame, 20-step run on that laptop. Its exact timing is pending; the recommended 480 × 864 setting has no recorded time. Use the component list and performance notes to budget memory and clip time.

Open source ↗
Hao AI Lab FastH3 Trim: consumer GPU tests

Hao AI Lab’s experimental Trim removes eight of 50 transformer blocks and uses eight denoising steps. Its FP8, 832 × 480, five-second clip with audio took a reported median of 82 seconds on a warm RTX 4090 artificially capped at 8GB GPU memory. The warm timing includes encoding, denoising, decoding and MP4 export, with two runs on each of two prompts. The authors expect a real smaller-memory card to run slower than that capped 4090. Keep the hardware and precision with the timing.

Open source ↗
Akatz Labs Person Remover: a Ref2VA editing adapter

This experimental LoRA removes a selected person and reconstructs the background. Its ComfyUI workflow adds SAM 3.1 masking, a separately cleaned first frame and overlapping generation windows. The adapter still needs the base, encoder, VAEs and segmentation models. Start with a short continuous shot, inspect masks and reroll weak windows; changed background details and shadows affect accepted-edit cost. The supplied workflow produces silent output by default; retaining the original soundtrack is a separate connection/postprocessing step. H3’s license applies; the relay code’s GPL license does not relicense the weights.

Open source ↗
Alibaba PAI ControlNet Union 2.0: structural control and inpainting

The original Union card now recommends 2.0 for new work. This H3 control branch accepts eight controls including edges, depth, pose, sketches and layouts, plus video inpainting. Its roughly 13.5GB branch is additional to base H3 and the encoder. Use the matching 2.0 configuration: the old five-block configuration can silently discard part of the checkpoint. Include control preprocessing, extra memory and retries in your budget. The model card retains the H3 Community License.

Open source ↗
Comfy-Org files: repackaging and quantized deployment choices

Comfy-Org explicitly repackages upstream model files for ComfyUI, including BF16, INT8 ConvRot and FP8 choices, encoders, VAEs and adapters. A smaller transformer file does not eliminate encoder or runtime memory. Match the task, precision and compatible runtime, then measure peak memory and seconds for the same clip. This packaging is not itself a newly trained base model. Its card uses the H3 Community License; keep adapter terms with the upstream license.

Open source ↗
Provider channels and renamed interfaces

A provider channel adds its own model ID, supported inputs, resolutions, queue limits and billing rules. Confirm whether it serves H3, H3-Max or a modified checkpoint. Compare the total for the same references and delivered clip, including minimum duration and retry charges. The provider’s service terms govern that API purchase; access to an endpoint does not grant a separate right to redistribute H3 weights.

Open source ↗

Recast people in an existing video with fal H3 Max

H3 Max Recast replaces people in an existing video using reference photos. It is a hosted endpoint in fal’s post-trained H3 family. fal’s H3 Max guide describes the underlying Max model as a joint release with MiniMax; use fal’s Recast endpoint and pricing for this editing task.

Supply a 5–30-second source video, with no single shot longer than 15 seconds, and one to four reference photos, one per new person. The default mapping replaces the main people from left to right; an optional prompt specifies who becomes whom. Output choices are 768P and 1080P, with 1080P selected by default.

Checked October 18, fal bills by output duration at $0.30 per second for 768p or $0.45 for 1080p, including reference images. A ten-second output costs $3 or $4.50. Three ten-second outputs would cost $9 or $13.50. These are calculated examples for generated outputs, before any applicable taxes.

Open the Recast playground, sign in, add your video and photos, choose the resolution and check the displayed cost before submitting. For code, use the @fal-ai/client package on your server with endpoint minimax/h3-max/recast and the video_url, reference_image_urls and resolution inputs. Keep your fal API key on the server.

fal says Recast aims to preserve source motion, camera, cuts and audio. Review the rendered faces, transitions and soundtrack before accepting a clip. Use footage and likenesses you have rights and consent to use; fal’s Terms and Acceptable Use Policy govern uploads and output use.

Ten output seconds of H3 Max Recast cost $3 at 768p or $4.50 at 1080p, including reference photos.
Calculated fal Recast output charges by resolution.

What are the MiniMax H3 weight-license conditions?

The MiniMax H3 Community License permits royalty-free use within its applicable territory, excluding the EU, UK, United States and South Korea. Organizations in excluded territories can apply for separate authorization; MiniMax also documents the hosted API as a globally available route.

Commercial products and services with more than $20 million in yearly revenue need prior written authorization. Commercial interfaces must display MiniMax H3. Redistribution carries notice requirements, and hosted services must implement the license’s content safeguards. The license restricts using H3 works or outputs to improve other AI models outside H3 and its derivatives.

Before you use it

  • MiniMax-H3-Max is a distinct variant with its own resolutions and prices; this guide’s direct generation budgets use MiniMax-H3.

How to get started

Start with a short clip at your delivery aspect ratio and explicit sound instructions. Record output seconds, reference-material charges, rejected takes and regeneration before comparing an API workflow with local compute.

Sources

Sources (28)

Calculators

Using this calculator for this model

Choose the output size and clip length you expect to generate. Use the calculator’s task count and available price mapping to estimate a typical workload.

How to fill in the calculator
Deployment
Local estimates use hardware ownership, electricity and operations; cloud estimates use hourly rental pricing. Compare the path you are considering.
Usage level
Choose 120, 360 or 720 active hours per month, based on your planned schedule. For bursty work, use the nearest level as a comparison.
Output size
Use the resolution or output size typical for your jobs; larger outputs may change the mapped compute price.
Duration
Choose the clip duration you normally generate; longer clips can require more compute.

Use the calculator for a deployment budget; enter your expected usage and measured wall power.